Implementing Generalized Backpropagation

Hello, I’m a student at ETH Zürich. Kevin Du from https://rycolab.io/ published a paper last year proposing Generalizing Backpropagation for Gradient-Based Interpretability. Someone else and me are currently researching how we would implement this into PyTorch. There’s also a YouTube Video explaining the paper.

I read the contribution guide and we know that the first step would be to submit an RFC but since this is the first time we would be contributing to PyTorch and because this would be a bigger change that touches a lot different parts of PyTorch, we wanted to open a discussion even before we submit the RFC.

Implementation

In backpropagation, we basically have a summation and a multiplication of gradients. The summation can be found in torch/csrc/autograd/functions/accumulate grad.h::accumulateGrad() while the multiplication can be found in the generated autograd functions apply().

A user would new have the ability to create arbritary semirings for both of those operations and provide them. The summation operation would be passed to accumulateGrad() and the multiplication operation would be passed to the autograd function, replacing the currently implemented summation and multiplication.

I’d like to get input to the following questions:

1. Can we somehow implement this without actually changing the implementation of backprop? I looked at hooks but unless I misunderstood something, I can’t use them to achieve this goal. Please correct me if I am wrong.
  2. Assuming we have to touch the backpropagation implementation, what would be a good way of letting the user define such semiring operations? I know that PyTorch uses precompiled functions but I’m not familiar with it enough at the moment to really judge if we can reuse that. One of the reasons why we would like to implement it into PyTorch is performance. The current implementation is based on a very basic DL framework that is designed for teaching purposes.